eyeheart

Goodbye Shandy

In Life with Animals on August 14, 2008 at 11:59 am

Today I made the difficult decision to put Shandy to sleep. She was 12 1/2 years old and had been steadily declining, rapidly so in the last days. She was pacing incessantly, drooling, falling over, eating dirt, staring into corners and losing bladder control. She wasn’t reacting to us, to the squirrels she loved to chase, even to treats. Quality of life just wasn’t there. Even so, it was one of the most difficult decisions I’ve ever had to make. In the end it was peaceful and it felt like the right thing to do.

I fell in love with Shandy on a trip to the Oregon Humane Society in July of 1997. She was missing patches of hair, had saggy boobs from nursing puppies and was so thin they said she was a lab-greyhound mix. It didn’t matter. I dreamt about her that night. I knew she was our dog. She came home just 2 weeks before Annie arrived. As the kids said “she’s been with us our whole life!” With love and good food she filled out and it became obvious that there wasn’t a speck of greyhound in her. Border collie more likely. She did like to herd male visitors. She had an amazing character. Enthusiastic, eager to please, patient, great with all kids. She rarely growled and never ever even nipped at anyone. She loved the water and was happiest running up and down along the shore, occasionally barking at the waves and chasing seagull shadows. Riding in the car was a favorite activity. Anything to hang out with her family. Last year when I was sick she was so sweet and present and such a wonderful companion. When Bob came along she loved him too, without hesitation.

The house feels so empty without her.

Goodbye Shandy the Wonder Dog. I could not have asked for a better dog in any way. I hope you are running along a beach in doggie heaven, barking at the waves and chasing gull shadows.

  1. I know that Shandy is running along that beach in Doggie Heaven, biting the waves and chasing those gull shadows. She was a wonderful Granddog and we will always have such lovely memories of her.

  2. So sorry to hear. She sounds like she was a wonderful friend.

  3. I’m sad with you. I was so sad to read your news on myspace. I know how much you loved her and she loved you!! 😦

  4. My heart goes out to all of you! Shandy was truly a family member, I,m very glad I got to meet her & loved her instantly. What wonderful memories you will all share of all the good years you had with such a wonderful pet.
    Gladys

  5. Thanks everyone. She was such a wonderful dog and I feel so blessed to have had 11 years with her.

  6. Oh My Gosh! Trust me when I tell you that I merely stumbled upon your post. I FEEL YOUR PAIN!!! Pets can often times be the most constantly (consistent)loved piece of any home. Cherish your memories and I will keep you in my prayers.

  7. I loved her mommy she was an amazing dog! I remember at the beach her fur would always turn brown because she would run in the water and her collar would rust! She loved being with her family and something about her was always happy! it was the -happy go lucky- lab attitude she had… as i looked at the pictures i remember the night when she got in the raft… that was also the same trip where she swam to shore to use the facilities 😉 she will always be in my heart and i love knowing she is above me in doggy heaven barking at water to protect me!

    I LOVE YOU SHANDY MILLER(wonder dog)

  8. Now I KNOW it’s been too long since we’ve talked…I just saw this! I’m so sorry, I know how much you and the kids loved her. Funny, I was just telling someone yesterday about our trip to the coast with Shandy and how she just ran forever chasing shadows of the birds. Your new dog looks so sweet! And yes, pitbulls can be extremely wonderful pets — I’ve know a couple and they’re the best dogs. Loved the ex’s comment about Rose. Typical.

Leave a Reply

